Establishing Habits for a Productive Life

Wake Up & Run! The Half Marathon Training Program: Halfway to the Half Marathon

Well, folks, I’m halfway there.  Just completed my first ever six-mile run, and I am proud to say that it wasn’t nearly as difficult as I anticipated.

To be completely honest, what I was most afraid of with this run going into it was the monotony.  Six miles is a long distance, and at 10 mins a mile, that’s a full hour of running.  I was getting really bored on my treadmill even on the shorter runs, and the high school track is equally monotonous.  So I ventured out into uncharted territory – that is, a nicely paved path about half a mile away from my house – and just started running.  Since I knew the road would be relatively flat, well-paved, and straight, I just ran and ran until my Nike+ Running app alerted me that I had run three miles, at which point I turned right around and ran back toward where I came from.

I also had all conditions working in my favor: it was a beautiful, 72º evening, I was well-fed (having had toast with peanut butter a half hour before) and well-hydrated (I even brought along the nifty water bottle I won at my last 8K!), and I had Songza to keep me company. It was one of the most enjoyable runs I’ve been on so far.

I feel so empowered.  Four weeks ago I never would have thought that I could run six miles without a break. Now that I’m halfway there, the half marathon is seeming much less daunting.

12 miles, here I come!

Comment

